Noisia

Summer 2007, chilling in my best friends back garden browsing through peoples myspaces, listening to music psyching ourselves up to go out that night. You never seem to forget that moment where you instantaneously fall in love with something, something so amazing and fresh you just can’t stop listening. For me that was the day I fell in love with Drum and Bass, for I had found NOISIA. Drum and Bass had been around for almost 2 decades, it was something I was always familiar with but just never gave it the time of day. Back then I found it all a wee bit too generic, but that fateful moment my ears heard the work by genius’ Nik Roos, Martijn van Sonderen and Thijs de Vlieger. I was completely and utterly infatuated.

Fast forward a few years and here we are, I’m still completely obsessed with the Dutch producers and there’s no wonder. With three different record labels to their name, a string of fantastic EP’s, a FabricLive mix and an upcoming album coming out in April, I’m surprised I’m not walking around each day with a sponge in my mouth just to soak up the drool!

Ahead of the release of their first album ‘Split The Atom’, the three lads have released what can only be described as an absolute stomper. It’s dark, gritty, dirty and completely devoid of anything fluffy, cute and nice, I can guarantee you won’t find any easter bunnies here. Machine Gun is without a doubt – absolutely insane.

Accompanying Machine Gun on the release are remixes by the fantastically talented Amon Tobin, Spor and 16bit. Spor’s polished version has been banging on my eardrums since the release and it gets better with every listen. With grinding basses and a fist full of broken beats Spor has really done the original justice whilst giving it a more club orientated bounce.

NOISIA – Machine Gun (Spor Remix)

Machine Gun was released on March 8th on all the major respected digital outlets as well as the pre order for their album ‘Split the Album’ which will be out on April 5th, 2010.

Until next month! Keep Dancing 🙂

Robocat

Leave a Reply

