Nish, Clish, Bang

After an 80s predominantly spent listening to fairly standard issue pre-teen pop, the late 80s and early 90s brought a very different musical world into my life. The main reason for this was the advent of Madchester, aided and abetted by close family ties to the city. A father working at Manchester Met with art students, and a brother studying at Manchester Uni meant that I was exposed to all the best that the city had to offer from a very early age.

Happy Mondays – Wrote For Luck (The Vince Clarke Mix)

My favourites were Happy Mondays. I loved them, and loved their insane record sleeves. I loved the fact that Shaun Ryder sounded absolutely demented, and that you then listened to his lyrics and realised he probably was demented. I loved their loping rhythms, and I loved their proto-dance remixes. Of course, most of all I loved Bez. Everyone loved Bez. The song that I was probably most obsessed by at this point was Wrote For Luck, and specifically the Vince Clarke (née Depeche Mode, Yazoo and Erasure) remix.

After the Happy Mondays, my next favourite was the Inspiral Carpets, now most famous for turning down Noel Gallagher as lead singer when he was roadie for them, but for a few years a genuinely major force on the British music scene. Something which looking back seems a bit weird, as their music has probably aged the worst out of the major player on the Madchester scene. They do have a couple of gems though, and they will always have a place in my heart for their unbelievably popular “Cool as Fuck” T-shirts (rumour has it they sold more of these than all their album sales combined). The G-Mex gig where a marching band came on during “She Comes In The Fall” was a highpoint of the scene, even if now it seems like nothing.

The Stone Roses – I Wanna Be Adored

A band who have stood the test of time slightly better is the one and only Stone Roses. Possibly the greatest British album ever made, their debut is an absolute masterpiece, even if they have never really got close to its heights before or since, save for the Fool’s Gold EP. Everything about them from their early years is legendary, for the “Stone Roses” grafiti around Manchester before they achieved fame, to their notorious appearance on the Late Show, to the Woodstock for the baggy generation, Spike Island. My oldest brother was lucky enough to go, and apparently it was as shit as the rumours suggest, but everyone was so wasted that it didn’t really matter. Indeed, that day inspired the song “Sorted for E’s and Whizz” by Pulp, which ironically came out the year Pulp filled in for The Stone Roses at Glastonbury. For me, the song that bests sums up the majesty, arrogance and genius of The Stone Roses is “I Wanna Be Adored”.

808 State – Cübik

On my 13th birthday I received my first ever 12″ record of my own, and what a record – 808 State’s Extended Pleasures Of Dance. An absolutely amazing trio of songs, for me Cübik was the absolute pinnacle of what I imagined anyone could achieve for a good few years. To my eternal shame I have never really explored 808 State’s catalogue apart from the obvious songs, and constantly keep it as something I’ll do soon, as opposed to something I’m doing.

But finally, the documentary that I stumbled across this week which inspired this blog posting. I remember recording this way back when, and watching it with my 3 brothers over and over, to the point where even now we have in-jokes harking back to it. Its absolutely amazing, in so many different ways, both good and bad. Marvel at the “fashion”. Wonder at what a cock James “media dick” Brown is. Be amazed by arguably the greatest rapper ever, MC Tunes. But this is a gem of a programme, and something that really brings back such vivid memories of when I was first stepping into the wide world of music, when “indie” actually meant something when you applied it to music. Enjoy.

Santero.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Nish, Clish, Bang”

  1. L33P33 Says:

    Top top post man… just finished watching the whole documentary as well… cheers for this!

Leave a Reply

